Adelia Saunders


Adelia Saunders has a master's degree from Georgetown University's School of Foreign Service and a bachelor's degree from New York University's Tisch School of the Arts. She has taught English in Paris, written for an independent newswire at the United Nations, and assisted an agricultural economist in Kampala, Uganda. She grew up in Durango, Colorado and currently lives with her family in New York City, where she splits her time between work for an international think tank and raising two small children. INDELIBLE is her first novel.

Books

Indelible

Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of THE SYMPATHIZER: "With INDELIBLE, Adelia Saunders has written a graceful and elegant novel about love and mystery, loss and melancholy, sorrow and hope. From words written on the skin to the sight of unbearable things, she explores with great nuance the limits of human vision."

Gail Godwin, three-time National Book Award finalist and author of FLORA: "Extraordinary. Saunders' debut is grounded in such a solid world of character and place that its uncanny premise seems the most natural way to set right the missed connections of three wounded people."

Kirkus Reviews: "Richly detailed and highly observant. . . . Fans of David Mitchell's CLOUD ATLAS and Tea Obreht's THE TIGER'S WIFE will love Saunders' debut, which takes up the mantle of myth, history, and storytelling with beautiful, sure-footed prose."

Kate Racculia, author of BELLWEATHER RHAPSODY: "A history, a romance, a fantastic mystery...all of these descriptors could be applied to INDELIBLE, and all of them are true. Transporting, unique, and entirely engrossing, it leaves a beautiful mark."

Erika Swyler, author of THE BOOK OF SPECULATION: "A twisty gem of a book. Eloquently written, equal parts brutal and tender, INDELIBLE is haunting in the very best way."

Suzanne Rindell, author of THE OTHER TYPIST and THREE-MARTINI LUNCH: "Each scene in Indelible is a vivid postcard as ineffaceable as its title. Readers will stay up late at night turning pages, trying to riddle out the mystery of these characters' intertwined lives. Expertly plotted, beautifully written!"

Rebecca Dinerstein, author of THE SUNLIT NIGHT: "INDELIBLE is a novel of details and destinies, Adelia Saunders fills these pages with vast bodies of knowledge, sensitive portraits, and a weaving of human fates so vivid and unusual it will leave you wondering madly what words may be written across your own skin."